Tradition
Tradition
Tradition
Tradition

Tradition

As an independent family-owned company, WMH Herion can look back on a long history and an interesting past full of ups and downs. With Claude Herion, the fourth generation has already taken on the management of the company. Since 2018 the company has been completely owned by the family again.

Grafik Timeline Image

Beginnings

The history of our family-owned business goes back to the end of the 19th century. Christian Herion (great-grandfather of Claude Herion) owned and ran a plant for mechanical drive components in Alsace until its expropriation after World War I. His son Ernst Herion founded a new company in Berlin in 1928 which primarily manufactured valve reseating tools for the aviation industry at the time. Due to the great demand, the company grew and already employed more than 200 workers in 1941. Towards the end of World War II, the production site was almost completely destroyed. The grandfather still rebuilt the company after the war. In 1949 shortly before the foundation of the GDR, Ernst Herion’s property was expropriated.

New beginning and search

He left Berlin to go to Bavaria and again founded a company in Pfaffenhofen – with its present name. Even back then the company’s success was based on the constructive communication between the company and our customers as well as a keen instinct for special market demands. If a farmer needed a sprocket wheel for his motorcycle, for example, it was manufactured individually by WMH.

Establishment and expansion

WMH Herion made a name for itself with the manufacture of sprocket wheels. At the same time, however, Ernst Herion did not forget to continuously expand the product portfolio. Hence, the company had developed a solid base and was well prepared for the future at the end of the 1950s when the demand for motorcycle sprocket wheels plummeted. As a reminder of our beginnings and the former best-seller, we display a motorcycle with the typical sprocket wheel from that time in the reception area of our company headquarters.

Into the 1990s, racks and spur gears for linear drives became the main products of WMH Herion. During that time, a global sales system was established with the help of our international partners and distributors, successfully conquering new markets. The once small business transformed into a company with more than 200 employees under the management of Wolfgang Herion (father of Claude Herion). The demands grew along with the expansion and the competition never slept. We continuously expanded our product portfolio to meet our customers’ requirements.

Relocation and expansion

In 2007, WMH Herion moved from the “old” plant in Pfaffenhofen to the newly constructed company headquarters in Wolnzach. Not only the production area expanded with the relocation but the demanding logistic requirements were also taken into account. The in-house development department was set up at the same time. From that point on, WMH did not only support its customers with the design of drive components but was also able to develop entire assemblies which were manufactured and set up in-house.

Development and progress

In the following years, more and more was invested in development. New and patented drive concepts, such as the preloaded double pinion and the backlash-free drive for rotary tables, are developed in collaboration with the university Technische Hochschule Ingolstadt (THI).

The areas of assemblies, systems and projects have been continuously developed since 2009 and are increasingly gaining on importance. As a result, the product range of WMH grew to incorporate a unit construction system for round rack winches in different sizes. The manufacture and delivery of complex assemblies continue to increase. Additionally, the serial production of assembled partial solutions, such as Z axes with a rack-pinion combination, starts with the customer’s order. Now WMH Herion is an approved A-system supplier of OEM automation technology.

Conclusion and outlook

The foundation for the innovative and sustainable growth of our family-owned business was created by continuous development and the logical expansion of our services.

Now WMH Herion employs more than 120 staff members at its headquarters in Wolnzach. Our philosophy and the drive which once brought millions of motorcycles on the fast track are still the cornerstone of our business policy. Expanded structures, in-depth knowledge and our motivation to make a change qualify us as a partner for future-oriented drive solutions.

Multi-functional

WMH products can be found anywhere where something moves. WMH Herion ensures the right drive in more than 50 sectors ranging from classical areas such as toolmaking, mechanical engineering and machine and plant engineering through automation technology, aeronautical and medical engineering to mechatronics and renewable energies.

You can contact us by phone under +49 8442 96 99-0 or via email to info@wmh-herion.de

Tradition
Tradition
Tradition
Tradition

Tradition

Als eigenständiges Familienunternehmen kann WMH Herion auf eine lange Geschichte und eine bewegte Vergangenheit voller Höhen und Tiefen zurückblicken. Mit Claude Herion lenkt bereits die vierte Generation die Geschicke der Firma. Seit 2018 befindet sich das Unternehmen wieder komplett im Familienbesitz.

Grafik Timeline Image

Anfänge

Die Geschichte unseres Familienunternehmens geht bis zum Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts zurück. Christian Herion (Urgroßvater von Claude Herion) besitzt und leitet eine Fabrik für mechanische Antriebselemente im Elsass bis zu seiner Enteignung nach dem Ersten Weltkrieg. Sein Sohn Ernst Herion gründet 1928 in Berlin erneut eine Firma, die zu jener Zeit vor allem Ventilsitzfräser für die Luftfahrtindustrie fertigt. Aufgrund der großen Nachfrage wächst das Unternehmen und beschäftigt 1941 bereits über 200 Mitarbeiter. Gegen Ende des Zweiten Weltkriegs wird die Produktionsstätte fast vollkommen zerstört. Der Großvater baut die Firma trotzdem nach dem Krieg wieder auf. 1949, kurz vor Gründung der DDR, wird Ernst Herion enteignet.

Neubeginn und Suche

Er verlässt Berlin in Richtung Bayern und gründet in Pfaffenhofen erneut eine Firma – unter dem heutigen Namen. Schon damals basiert der Geschäftserfolg sowohl auf dem konstruktiven Dialog zwischen Unternehmen und Kunden als auch auf einem feinen Gespür für die besonderen Erfordernisse der Zeit. Benötigt damals ein Landwirt beispielsweise ein Kettenrad für ein Motorrad, wird es von WMH individuell gefertigt.

Etablierung und Expansion

Mit der Fertigung der Kettenräder macht sich WMH Herion einen Namen. Zugleich vergisst Ernst Herion aber nicht, das Produktportfolio stetig auszubauen. Somit steht das Unternehmen Ende der 1950er-Jahre, als die Nachfrage nach Motorradkettenrädern rapide nachlässt, auf einer soliden Basis und ist für die Zukunft bestens gerüstet. Als Erinnerung an die Anfänge und den damaligen Verkaufsschlager findet man heute im Eingangsbereich unseres Unternehmenssitzes ein Motorrad mit dem typischen Kettenrad aus dieser Zeit.

Bis in die 90er-Jahre entwickeln sich Zahnstangen und Stirnräder für Linearantriebe zu den Hauptprodukten von WMH Herion. Während dieser Zeit wird mithilfe internationaler Partner und Händler ein weltweites Vertriebssystem aufgebaut, und es werden damit erfolgreich neue Märkte erschlossen. Aus der einst kleinen Firma wird unter der Leitung von Wolfgang Herion (Vater von Claude Herion) ein Betrieb mit mehr als 200 Beschäftigten. Mit der Expansion wachsen gleichzeitig auch die Anforderungen und die Konkurrenz schläft nicht. Das WMH-Produktportfolio wird ständig erweitert, um den Kundenwünschen gerecht zu werden.

Umzug und Erweiterung

2007 zieht WMH Herion von den „alten“ Hallen in Pfaffenhofen in den neugebauten Firmensitz nach Wolnzach. Durch den Umzug wird nicht nur die Produktionsfläche erweitert, sondern es wird auch den gewachsenen Ansprüchen an die Logistik Rechnung getragen. Zur gleichen Zeit wird die hauseigene Entwicklungsabteilung eingerichtet. Ab sofort unterstützt WMH seine Kunden nicht nur bei der Auslegung von Antriebskomponenten, sondern ist auch in der Lage, komplette Baugruppen zu entwickeln, die intern gefertigt und montiert werden.

Entwicklung und Fortschritt

In den folgenden Jahren wird mehr und mehr in den Bereich Entwicklung investiert. So entstehen in Zusammenarbeit mit der Technischen Hochschule Ingolstadt (THI) neue und patentierte Antriebskonzepte, wie das spielfreie Stirnrad oder der spielfreie Antrieb für Drehtische.

Die Sparten Baugruppen, Systeme und Projekte entwickeln sich seit 2009 ständig weiter und gewinnen zunehmend an Bedeutung. Als Folge wächst das Angebot von WMH um ein Baukastensystem für Rundzahnstangenheber in verschiedenen Baugrößen. Herstellung und Lieferung von komplexen Baugruppen nehmen kontinuierlich zu. Zudem beginnt die Serienproduktion von fertig montierten Teillösungen, wie z. B. den Z-Achsen mit Zahnstangen-Ritzel-Kombination, im Kundenauftrag. Mittlerweile ist WMH Herion freigegebener A-Systemlieferant für die OEM-Automatisierungstechnik.

Fazit und Ausblick

Durch beständige Weiterentwicklung und die logische Erweiterung unserer Leistungen ist die Basis für ein innovatives und nachhaltiges Wachstum unseres Familienunternehmens entstanden.

Heute beschäftigt WMH Herion am Hauptsitz Wolnzach über 120 Mitarbeiter. Unsere Philosophie und der Antrieb, der einst Millionen Motorräder auf die Überholspur gebracht hat, bilden nachwievor den Grundstein unserer Geschäftspoltik. Gewachsene Strukturen, tiefgreifendes Wissen und unsere Motivation, etwas zu bewegen, machen uns zu einem Partner für zukunftsorientierte Antriebslösungen.

Vielseitig einsetzbar

WMH-Produkte finden sich überall, wo sich etwas bewegt. In über 50 Branchen, von klassischen Bereichen wie Werkzeug-, Maschinen- und Anlagenbau über Automatisierungs-, Luftfahrt- und Medizintechnik bis hin zu Mechatronik und regenerativen Energien, sorgt WMH Herion garantiert für den richtigen Antrieb.

Kontaktieren Sie uns telefonisch unter +49 8442 96 99-0 oder per Mail info@wmh-herion.de